The Regional Council in Central Denmark Region has 41 elected councillors. They hold monthly meetings in Viborg. Foto: Rune Borre-Jensen. 

Organisation and political leadership 

Central Denmark Region is one of five regions in Denmark. 

Denmark is organised at three political and administrative levels: the national (government), the regional (5 regions) and the municipal level (98 municipalities). 

Each region is led by a Regional Council, consisting of 41 politicians elected every four years. 

The regions' responsibilities are within the areas of health, psychiatry, social og regional development. The region must secure the overall strategy and at the same time top quality services; be it in the personal educational contact at institutions or when a patient needs nerve fibre surgery. 

Health, psychiatry and social 

The primary responsibility of Central Denmark Region is healthcare. This includes being responsible for the nine somatic hospitals and eight psychiatric hospital departments, pre-hospital emergency services, general practitioners and practising specialist doctors. 

The region also operates a number of specialised social care institutions in agreement with local municipalities. 

Regional development 

Central Denmark Region is also responsible for regional development within the areas of public transport/mobility, education, culture and environment (soil contamination, groundwater protection and raw materials planning).

Further information 

For further information regarding Danish Regions, Central Denmark Region, and other related areas in English, please visit our links collection